A short introduction to my research

Just a short note here to introduce my current research as a prelude to, what I am sure will be, many interesting posts to come.  I am studying migrant songbirds in an effort to determine the time schedule for breeding preparation during spring migration and how this may relate to their behavior throughout the migratory period.  My study sites include Johnson’s Bayou, Louisiana, which is a long-term study site of our lab at USM, and the Appledore Island Migration Station, in Maine, run by a collaborator, Dr. Sara R. Morris of Canisius College.  One aspect of my research involves investigating the testosterone levels in migrants at both of these sites which represent different distances remaining to the breeding grounds.  Utilizing this system, I will be able to investigate whether testosterone levels, among other things, are different in birds sampled at locations of varying proximity to the breeding grounds.  I have done field work during the spring migratory periods of 2011-2012 and I am currently preparing for the 2013 field season.

Leave a Reply

