Dauphin Island- More birds, but still no SWTH

On a positive note, I have been getting more migrants over the past couple days compared to those previous. For a little while I was beginning to think that migration was over; Ruby-crowned Kinglets winter here after all. But the last couple of days had a good showing of Neotropical Migrants, so maybe there is still hope! At least having a few more birds keeps me busy during the days.

AND while all migrants make me happy, some have the ability to put an extra-large smile on my face. For example, GOLDEN-WINGED WARBLER! What a wonderfully beautiful and relatively uncommon bird! While I have banded this species in the past and captured maybe a handful over my years working at our site in Johnson’s Bayou, the tiny Vermovora chrysoptera is still a delight to have in the hand.

Thrush update: It has been 11 days since I last caught a Swainson’s. I have seen one around here and there but the buggers cannot seem to find my nets. Maybe I need a neon sign “mist-nets, this way, free bracelets for all who visit”. In reviewing the 8 SWTHs that I have had so far, I think I have 2 females, 4 males, and 2 toss-ups (in-between in size). If I could just get a few more, and a few more females specifically, this season may not be wasted effort after all.

Maybe I can negotiate with the migration gods. I will trade 10 Magnolia Warblers, 5 American Redstarts, 14 Gray Catbirds and 6 Wood Thrush for 3 female Swainson’s Thrushes. I think you’re getting a deal here!

Will the migration gods agree to this trade? Will a Swainson’s Thrush ever be caught by this graduate student again? Will this graduate student stop talking to herself?

Find out next time; same birdy place, same birdy channel.

The list (Oct 17-18):

American Redstart: 1B

Golden-winged Warbler: 1B

Magnolia Warbler: 6B

Hooded Warbler: 1B, 1R

Common Yellowthroat: 1B

Red-eyed Vireo: 1B

Ovenbird: 1B, 1R

Wood Thrush: 3B

Gray Catbird: 5B

Summer Tanager: 1B

Brown Thrasher: 2C

Yellow-billed Cuckoo: 1C

Total: 21B, 3C, 2R

Running Season Total: 133B, 23C, 13R

~Kristen

http://www.kristenmcovino.com

photo (3)

One response to “Dauphin Island- More birds, but still no SWTH

  1. I hope your luck gets better. If I see any swainson thrushes over here I will send them your way for their free bracelets!

Leave a Reply

